Agios Nikitas is a traditional, picturesque settlement of 100 inhabitants, situated 12 km east of Lefkada. The settlement was built among green olive groves, near a lovely beach. In recent years, Agios Nikitas has become a significant resort area providing tourists with all possible amenities. The crystal blue waters of the surrounding area attract many swimmers in summer.
The settlement of Agios Petros is built 38 km south of Lefkada. The inhabitants are mostly farmers cultivating their land in the surrounding area. The view to the Vassiliki and the mountain of Stavrota is very impressive.
The small settlement of Evgiros is situated 34 km south of Lefkada's capital. One should visit "Hirospilia", not far from the settlement where archaeologist Mr. Dorpfeld discovered remains from the Neolithic period. Part of this discovery is exhibited at the Museum of Nidri.
Kalamitsi is a small settlement situated 23 km southeast of Lefkada, on top of mount Rahi. It is believed that, this used to be a big village, which was built on this location in order to protect the inhabitants from raids. In 1825, the island's second school was run here. The village's most attractive sights are the churches as well as the thirteen mills, still standing in the surrounding area.
The large, mountainous village of Karia lies 14 km southwest of Lefkada and has 1,000 inhabitants. It is a traditional picturesque settlement with much smaller settlements among it. Its inhabitants keep up the manners and customs of the island. The women wear the traditional Lefkadian attire and create the well-known "Karisanika" embroidery. One can admire their work in the Museum of Folk Art in the capital and in smaller Museum of Folklore in the village.
Karia is also famous for the enactment of the Lefkadian wedding, which takes place on the 11th of August.
Katohori is a small village situated 22 km south of the island's capital. The few stone houses, built on a green hill, maintain a traditional Ionian style. The surrounding area is characterized by olive and cypress trees.
The town of Lefkada is situated in the northeastern part of the island and is linked with the mainland by a narrow channel. Originally, the island's capital was built in the Castle of Agia Mavra, thus the surrounding buildings of the contemporary town are relatively new. This is also a result of the earthquakes which rocked the Ionian Islands in the 1950, forcing the people of Lefkada to rebuild their houses using the remains of old and ruined homes.
The current population of the town of Lefkada is 8,000 inhabitants whose main occupation is the cultivation of the land and the sea. In the channel, at the town's entrance, lies the islet of Agios Nikolaos with the chapel of the same name. This chapel provided refuge for the poet Angelos Sikelianos and his wife Eve during a storm. On the seaside highway leading to the city, one can admire the New Fortress, alias Fortress Tekes, named after the nearby monastery, by Ali Pasha, in 1807. Along the beach, one can admire the ruins of other buildings, such as the fortresses of Georgios, Alexandros and Constantinos, as well as remains from the island's Russian Occupation.
Other remarkable sights of the town are the old and beautifully decorated churches built in the 17th, 18th and 19th century, the most significant being the churches of Agios Spiridon, Christos Pandokratoras, Agios Minas, Agios Dimitrios, Agios Ioannis Antzoussis as well as the monastery of Panagia Faneromeni. One can also admire findings from the ancient city, a few kilometres outside the capital, where there are also interesting exhibits in the collections of the Archaeological and Laographic Museum, as well as in the Museum of Gramophones.
The picturesque seaside settlement of Ligia is situated 5 km south of the town of Lefkada. The settlement's few inhabitants occupy themselves with fishing and, in recent years, with tourism, as the area's unique natural beauty attracts many tourists. Not far from Ligia, in Paradissos, one will see a landscape of incredible natural beauty, which has the appropriate name: Valley of Love (: Kilada tou Erota). On March 9, 1810, the English disembarked here and managed to conquer the island.
The town of Nidri is situated 17 km southeast of the capital, in the bay of Vlihos. It has a population of 800 inhabitants. It is the most developed resort on the island, attracting many tourists in the summer, as it successfully combines the beautiful scenery with touristic growth. The landscape enchants visitors, the crystal-blue waters of the small port provide refuge for boats, and the lovely beach attracts many tourists. During the summer, the town organizes interesting cultural events. In the small museum of the town, there are exhibits from relics of the Neo-Lithic era, findings from Hirospilia.
Outside the town, remains from antiquity (1900-1500 BC) were found, along with an aqueduct and Roman and Byzantine tombs with invaluable offerings inside. The German Archaeologist Dorpfeld, who is buried near the chapel of Agia Kiriaki, claimed that this was the capital of Ulysses's country.
In the background, one can admire the islets of Heloni, Scorpio, Sparti, Scorpidi and Madouri, on top of which stands the Neoclassical mansion of Aristoteles Valaoritis. At a distance of 2 km from Nidri, one should visit the gorge of Dimosaris and the Ronies falls, situated among a lash, green backdrop.
Sidari-Peroulades is a picturesque village made up of the Sidari settlement and the neigbouring settlement of Peroulades. It is situated 31 km north of the island's capital. From the village's port one can visit, by boat, the nearby islands Erikoussa, Mathraki and Othoni. In the surrounding area, ruins of a Neolithic settlement (3,000 BC) were found, along with remnants of a Venetian castle.
The village of Poros, situated 25 km south of Lefkada, has a population of 300 inhabitants. The narrow alleys and the beautiful traditional houses, built on a steep slope, provide a striking view. In the village, one should see the beautiful church of Analipsi with remarkable hagiographies and icons, the most significant being the icon of Virgin Mary (17th century). In the location of Pirgi, 800 m. outside the village, one should visit the ruins of the ancient olive mill and the castle, built in the 4th century BC. Before Poros stretches the beach of Mikros Gialos, the beauty of which attracts many tourists.
The lovely seaside settlement of Sivota is situated 33 km south of the island's capital. It is built before a quite, natural port which provides boats with refuge from poor weather. Here, in a scenery of unique beauty, one can enjoy tasty seafood caught by the locals.
Tsoukalades is a small, picturesque settlement situated 6 km east of the island's capital. The settlement is built on the green side of a hill full of pine trees. The few inhabitants are farmers. In the surrounding area, there are many lovely beaches.
The picturesque seaside settlement of Vassiliki has a population of 400 inhabitants. It is nestled among eucalyptus and plane trees and lies 42 km south of the island's capital. Excavations have brought to light ancient ruins which seem to have been Apollo's temple and other fortification walls. In recent years it has developed into a significant tourist resort. On the outskirts of town, there is a large well-organized beach with all the modern comforts. The tourists flock there to enjoy wind surfing in its quiet waters during the summer months. Another lovely beach is Agiofili, which can be reached only by caique from the little port of Vassiliki.